Skip to main content

Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP)


The Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP) is a trade agreement between 11 countries (Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore, and Vietnam). The Government has expressed its intention to pursue accession to CPTPP as a key part of its trade negotiations programme.

This inquiry will focus on the Government’s aims and objectives, the progress of negotiations, and the possible impacts of a final deal for people and businesses across the UK. The Committee will be looking at the impacts of a potential deal on the agriculture and food sectors, regulations and standards, professional services, digital trade, investment, intellectual property, and on UK policy objectives to combat global climate change and promote sustainability. It is not yet known when the talks will conclude, but this inquiry will run for the duration of those talks. .

This inquiry is currently accepting evidence

The committee wants to hear your views. We welcome submissions from anyone with answers to the questions in the call for evidence. You can submit evidence until Friday 12 March 2021.

Read the call for evidence before submitting

Past events

No past events