Skip to main content

Outdoor and indoor air quality targets


The Environmental Audit Committee is undertaking a short inquiry to establish the adequacy of current measures to promote indoor and outdoor air quality, and assess whether air quality targets are sufficient for protecting public health and the environment.

Read the call for evidence for more detail about the inquiry.

This inquiry is no longer accepting evidence

The deadline for submissions was Thursday 25 May 2023.

Upcoming events

View all events

No upcoming events scheduled

Past events

Wednesday 6 September 2023
2:00pm Private
2:15pm Public
Outdoor and indoor air quality targets - Oral evidence 6 September 2023
  • Councillor Darren Rodwell (Chair, Local Infrastructure and Net Zero Board at Local Government Association)
  • Councillor Deirdre Costigan (Acting Chair, Transport and Environment Committee at London Councils)
  • Councillor Sarah Warren (Deputy Council Leader and Cabinet Member for Climate Emergency and Sustainable Travel at Bath and North East Somerset Council)
  • Councillor Peter Schwier (Climate Czar and Cabinet Member for Environment, Waste Reduction and Recycling at Essex County Council)
Room 15, Palace of Westminster
Wednesday 5 July 2023
2:00pm Private
2:15pm Public
Outdoor and indoor air quality targets - Oral evidence 5 July 2023
  • Professor Sir Chris Whitty KCB
  • Larissa Lockwood (Director for Clean Air at Global Action Plan)
  • Professor Nicola Carslaw (Professor in Indoor Air Chemistry at University of York)
  • Dr Tom Woolley (Architect and Environmental Consultant at Rachel Bevan Architects)
Room 8, Palace of Westminster
Wednesday 14 June 2023
2:00pm Private
2:15pm Public
Outdoor and indoor air quality targets - Oral evidence 14 June 2023
  • Professor Frank Kelly (Battcock Chair of Community Health and Policy, and Director of the Environmental Research Group at Imperial College London)
  • Professor Alastair Lewis (Professor of Atmospheric Chemistry at National Centre for Atmospheric Science, Professor of Atmospheric Chemistry at University of York, Chair at Department for Transport Science Advisory Council, and Chair at Defra Air Quality Expert Group)
  • Professor Sir Stephen Holgate CBE (Professor of Immunopharmacology at The University of Southampton, and Special adviser on air quality at Royal College of Physicians)
  • Jim McManus (President at Association of Directors of Public Health)
  • Matthew Clark (Member of the Environmental Protection Advisory Panel at The Chartered Institute of Environmental Health)
  • Tom Bradshaw (Deputy President at National Farmers' Union)
  • Emily Hunter (Lead Policy Advocate on Land Use at The Woodland Trust)
Room 15, Palace of Westminster

Contact us

  • Email:
  • Phone: 020 7219 8890 (general enquiries) | 07720 143396 (media enquiries)