Skip to main content

Financial services regulation consultations


We set up the Treasury Sub-Committee on Financial Services Regulations (‘the Sub-Committee’) in June 2022 to examine changes to regulatory text proposed by the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA), the Bank of England, the Prudential Regulation Authority (PRA) or the Payment Systems Regulator (PSR). When reviewing such proposals, the Sub-Committee considers the following factors in considering the degree of additional scrutiny warranted:

  • Does it have a significant impact on consumers?
  • Does it have a significant disproportionate cost for firms?
  • Does it incorporate any politically significant proposals?
  • Is it a new activity that has not been regulated before?

It is anticipated that the Sub-Committee will meet to ‘sift’ proposals approximately once every two months, during which it will take a view on what form of additional scrutiny is appropriate for each open consultation.

To aid these decisions, the Sub-Committee would welcome individual consumers and their representatives, industry and other potentially affected parties getting in touch with specific concerns about proposals which fall within the Sub-Committee’s remit. The Sub-Committee may choose to publish that material, or draw on it in evidence sessions or correspondence.

A list of the proposals on which the Sub-Committee is currently accepting written submissions can be found here


Upcoming events

View all events

No upcoming events scheduled

Contact us

We receive a significant number of emails each day. If you’ve asked for a reply, we’ll aim to respond as soon as we can, although during parliamentary recesses it may take slightly longer for us to respond. We’re usually able to reply more quickly to emails than to post. Please note, the Committee does not look at individual cases or specific complaints.

  • Email:
  • Phone: 020 7219 5769 (general enquiries) | 0207 219 8335 (media enquiries)
  • Address: Treasury Sub-Committee on Financial Services Regulations, House of Commons, London, SW1A 0AA