Skip to main content

Effective road and traffic management


14 June 2011

Witnesses: Nick Lester, Corporate Director of Services, Cllr Catherine West, Chair of London Council’s Transport and Environment Committee (and leader of Islington Council), London Councils, and Garrett Emmerson, Chief Operating Officer for London Streets, Transport for London; Mike Penning MP, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, and Norman Baker MP, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, Department for Transport

7 June 2011

Witnesses: Paul Watters, Head of Public Affairs, AA, Iain Reeve, Head of Strategy, Transport and Planning Services, Surrey County Council, and Malcolm Bingham, Head of Road Network Management Policy, Freight Transport Association, Professor Phil Blythe, Chair, Transport Policy Panel, Institute of Engineering and Technology, Robin Shaw, Chairman of Learned Society, Chartered Institution of Highways and Transport, and Mike Mackinnon, Director, Capita Symonds, Graham Dalton, Chief Executive, and Simon Sheldon-Wilson, Director of Traffic Management, Highways Agency, and Assistant Chief Constable Nick Croft, South Wales Police, Association of Chief Police Officers

10 May 2011

Witnesses: David Brown, Director General of South Yorkshire PTE, pteg, and Peter Nash, Policy Adviser, Stagecoach; Dave Turnbull, Legal Director, National Joint Utilities Group, John Pettigrew, Chief Operating Officer of UK Gas Distribution, National Grid, and Roger Culpin, Chair, Joint Authorities Group; and Simon Beasley, Chair, Urban Traffic Management and Control, Andy Graham, Chair, Co-operative Vehicle Highways Interest Group, Intelligent Transport Systems, and Anthony Sharp, Former President, Institute of Highway Engineers

29 March 2011

Witnesses: Hugh Noblett, Head of Training, Cadence Driver Development, Nich Brown, General Secretary, Motorcycle Action Group (MAG), and Jack Semple, Director of Policy, Road Haulage Association; Robin Heydon, Officer, Cambridge Cycling Campaign, Christopher Peck, Policy Co-ordinator, CTC, the national cyclists' organisation, and Majeed Neky, People and Places Campaign Coordinator, Living Streets; and Mark Kemp, senior member, Transport Committee, ADEPT, James Coates, member of Public Policies Committee, Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport in the UK (CILT), Stephen Glaister, Director, RAC Foundation, and Nick Reed, Senior Human Factors Researcher, Transport Research Laboratory

Upcoming events

No upcoming events scheduled

Past events

No past events

Contact us

Please note: The Transport Committee examines policy issues relating to the Department for Transport and its associated bodies. It is unable to investigate, or adjudicate on, individual cases.

  • Email:
  • Phone: 020 7219 2226/ Text relay: 18001 020 2226 (general enquiries) | 020 7219 8895 (media enquiries)
  • Address: Transport Committee, House of Commons, London, SW1A 0AA/ Twitter: @TransportCttee