Skip to main content

Licensing of taxis and private hire vehicles


Oral evidence taken

18 January 2011

Witnesses: Graham Stevenson, National Organiser, Transport, and Tommy McIntyre, National Taxi Representative, Unite the Union, Mick Rix, National Officer, and Michael Hildreth, Secretary, GMB Professional Drivers, Taxis & Private Hire, GMB, and Gavin Soki, Skyline Taxis; Ian Shanks, Partner, Blue Line Taxis, Mr David B. Wilson, Paul McLaughlin, Company Secretary, Delta Taxis, Richard Jarman, Company Secretary, South Sefton Hackney Drivers’ Association, and John Griffin, Chairman, Addison Lee; and Mr Myles Bebbington, Damien Edwards, Licensing Officer, Liverpool City Council, Councillor Cec Tallack, Leader, Milton Keynes Council, and Philip Soderquest, Public Safety and Enforcement Manager, Northumberland County Council

Watch the session

15 March 2011

Witnesses: Brian Whitehead, Regional Organiser, and Stan Marut, Branch Secretary, London Taxi Brach, RMT, Paul Brent, Chairman, and Tim Gray, Company Secretary, National Taxi Association, Steve Wright MBE, Chairman, Licensed Private Hire Car Association; Kris Beuret OBE, Chair, and John Austin, Vice Chair, National Association of Taxi Users, John Moorhouse, Company Secretary, and Paul Fawcett, Advisory and Research Consultant, TravelWatch NorthWest; Norman Baker MP, Department for Transport

Watch the session

Upcoming events

No upcoming events scheduled

Past events

No past events

Contact us

Please note: The Transport Committee examines policy issues relating to the Department for Transport and its associated bodies. It is unable to investigate, or adjudicate on, individual cases.

  • Email:
  • Phone: 020 7219 2226/ Text relay: 18001 020 2226 (general enquiries) | 020 7219 8895 (media enquiries)
  • Address: Transport Committee, House of Commons, London, SW1A 0AA/ Twitter: @TransportCttee