Skip to main content

Bus services after the Spending Review


The Transport Committee undertook an inquiry into the funding of bus services in England (outside of London) in the light of the outcome of the Comprehensive Spending Review.

The Committee published its report on 11 August 2011.

View the full terms of reference for this inquiry.

Oral evidence sessions

Tuesday 25 January 2011

Evidence given by Nick Richardson, CILT Bus and Coach Forum Committee Member, Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport, Steve Warburton, Operations Manager, TAS Partnership Ltd, and Professor Peter White, University of Westminster. David Sidebottom, Bus Passenger Director, Passenger Focus, Stephen Morris, General Manager, Bus Users UK, Stephen Joseph, Chief Executive, Campaign for Better Transport, and Greg Lewis, Programme Director, Age UK

Tuesday 22 March 2011

Robert Montgomery, Service Performance Director, Stagecoach Group plc, and Mike Cooper, Managing Director, Arriva Bus UK, and Roger Cotterell, Finance Manager, Compass Travel (Sussex) Ltd, and Ben Colson, Managing Director, Go West Travel Ltd (t/a Norfolk Green), and Keith Halstead, Chief Executive, Community Transport Association UK; and Cllr Peter Box CBE, Local Government Association, and Tracey Jessop, Vice Chair, and Mr David Brown, Director General, South Yorkshire PTE, pteg, and North Yorkshire County Council, witness TBC, and Bruce Thompson, Transport Co-ordination Service Manager, Devon County Council

Tueday 3 May 2011

Witnesses: Mr Ray Wilkes, Ms Victoria Harvey, Mr Terry Kirby, and Mr David Redgewell; and Norman Baker MP, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, and Anthony Ferguson, Head of Buses and Taxis Division, Department for Transport

Upcoming events

No upcoming events scheduled

Past events

No past events

Contact us

Please note: The Transport Committee examines policy issues relating to the Department for Transport and its associated bodies. It is unable to investigate, or adjudicate on, individual cases.

  • Email:
  • Phone: 020 7219 2226/ Text relay: 18001 020 2226 (general enquiries) | 020 7219 8895 (media enquiries)
  • Address: Transport Committee, House of Commons, London, SW1A 0AA/ Twitter: @TransportCttee