Skip to main content

Restorative justice inquiry


Justice Committee inquiry into the use of restorative justice in the criminal justice system.

Reports, special reports and government responses

View all reports and responses
4th Report - Restorative justice
Inquiry Restorative justice inquiry
HC 164
Response to this report
Restorative Justice: Government response to the Justice Committee's Fourth Report of Session 2016-17
Cm 9343
Government Response

Oral evidence transcripts

View all oral evidence transcripts
24 May 2016
Inquiry Restorative justice inquiry
Witnesses Baroness Newlove, Victims' Commissioner, Jim Barton, Deputy Director, National Probation Service, and Dan Molloy, Restorative Justice Manager, Cumbria and Lancashire Community Rehabilitation Company. Rt Hon Mike Penning MP, Minister for Policing, Fire and Criminal Justice and Victims, and Michael Spurr, Chief Executive, National Offender Management Service (NOMS)
Oral Evidence
4 May 2016
Inquiry Restorative justice inquiry
Witnesses Rt Hon Lord McNally, Chair, Youth Justice Board, Ali Wigzell, Deputy Chair, Standing Committee for Youth Justice, and Ben Byrne, Head of Youth Support, Surrey County Council; Polly Neate, Chief Executive, Women’s Aid, Clare McGlynn, Professor of Law, Durham University, and Diana Barran, Chief Executive Officer, SafeLives
Oral Evidence
19 April 2016
Inquiry Restorative justice inquiry
Witnesses Lucy Jaffé, Director, Why me?, Jon Collins, Chief Executive Officer, Restorative Justice Council, and Vera Baird QC, Chair, Standing Group on Supporting Victims and Reducing Harm, Association of Police and Crime Commissioners; Gary Stephenson, Chief Executive, Restorative Solutions CIC, Ray Fishbourne, Chair, Thames Valley Restorative Justice Services Steering Group, Thames Valley Partnership, and Dr Theo Gavrielides, Founder and Director, IARS International Institute.
Oral Evidence
Rt Hon Mike Penning MP (RJU0062)
Refuge (RJU0057)
Ministry of Justice (RJU0060)

Contact us

  • Email:
  • Phone: 020 7219 6684 (general enquiries) | 020 7219 3051 (media enquiries)
  • Address: House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA