Skip to main content

Supply of teachers inquiry


Committee report

The Committee raised the issue of teacher recruitment and retention in an evidence session with Nicky Morgan, Secretary of State for Education. Following an update from the Secretary of State, the Committee calls for written evidence ahead of a one-off oral session to examine the issue.

Reports, special reports and government responses

View all reports and responses
5th Report - Recruitment and retention of teachers
Inquiry Supply of teachers inquiry
HC 199

Oral evidence transcripts

View all oral evidence transcripts
19 October 2016
Inquiry Supply of teachers inquiry
Witnesses David Anstead, Strategic Lead, Nottingham Education Improvement Board, Professor Dame Alison Peacock, Chief Executive Designate, College of Teaching, Peter Sellen, Chief Economist, Education Policy Institute, and Jack Worth, Research Manager, National Foundation for Educational Research; Nick Gibb MP, Minister for School Standards, Department for Education
Oral Evidence
8 June 2016
Inquiry Supply of teachers inquiry
Witnesses Dr Jane Courtney, Member of Deans of Education Network, MillionPlus, Charles Tracy, Head of Education, Institute of Physics, Professor Sir John Holman, President-elect, Royal Society of Chemistry, Andy Mitchell, Curriculum Director and Assistant Chief Executive, Design and Technology Association, Dr Robin Bevan, Headteacher, Southend High School for BoysMark Parrett, Audit Manager, National Audit Office, Professor Chris Husbands, Vice-Chancellor, Sheffield Hallam University, Jenni French, Programme Manager in the Education Team, Gatsby Charitable Foundation, Joanna Hall, Deputy Director for Schools, Ofsted
Oral Evidence
9 December 2015
Inquiry Supply of teachers inquiry
Witnesses Professor John Howson, TeachVac, Martin Thompson, Executive Director, National Association of School-Based Teacher Trainers, Sam Freedman, Executive Director of Programmes, Teach First, James Noble-Rogers, Executive Director, Universities Council for the Education of TeachersRussell Hobby, General Secretary, NAHT, Kevin Courtney, Deputy General Secretary, National Union of Teachers, Darren Northcott, National Official for Education, NASUWT, Emma Knights, Chief Executive, National Governors' AssociationNick Gibb MP, Minister of State for Schools, Department for Education
Oral Evidence
TeachVac (SOT0065)
MillionPlus, The Association for Modern Universities (SOT0064)
National Governors' Association (SOT0063)

Contact us

  • Email:
  • Phone: 020 7219 2370 (general enquiries) | 020 7219 8895 (media enquiries)
  • Address: Education Committee, House of Commons, London, SW1A 0AA