Skip to main content

Human Rights (Joint Committee)

Joint Select Committee

The Joint Committee on Human Rights consists of twelve members, appointed from both the House of Commons and the House of Lords, to examine matters relating to human rights within the United Kingdom, as well as scrutinising every Government Bill for its compatibility with human rights.


These pages only show information for this committee from the start of 2020 onwards. Earlier information can be found on the previous version of the UK Parliament website.

View previous Human Rights (Joint Committee) website

Latest publications

View all publications
Letter from the Home Secretary relating to the Government’s Asylum Partnership Agreement with Rwanda, dated 24 May 2022
Letter to Gillian Keegan MP, Minister of State for Care and Mental Health, regarding the application of the Human Rights Act, dated 20 May 2022
Inquiry Protecting human rights in care settings
Committees Human Rights (Joint Committee)
HC 216
Letter to the Secretary of State for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport relating to the Online Safety Bill, dated 19 May 2022

Contact us

The Committee is unable to look into individual cases

  • Email:
  • Phone: 020 7219 4710 (General enquiries) / 020 7219 8430 (Media enquiries)
  • Address: Joint Committee on Human Rights, Houses of Parliament. London. SW1A 0AA