Skip to main content

Role of the Committee

Review the rules that regulate the way MPs conduct House of Commons public business, including electing the Speaker and powers of committees. This page contains Standing Orders and amendments to the Standing Orders published during the period prior to the 2010 Parliament.

The Home Affairs Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152.

The Committee consists of 11 Members of Parliament, drawn from the three largest political parties. The House of Commons appoints the Committee with the task of examining the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Home Office and its associated public bodies.

The Committee chooses its own subjects of inquiry and seeks written and oral evidence from a wide range of relevant groups and individuals. At the end of an inquiry the Committee will often produce a report setting out its findings and making recommendations to the Government. The Government must respond to each of the report’s recommendations within two months of publication.

Image: Parliamentary copyright/PRU