Skip to main content

Alicia Kearns elected Chair of the Foreign Affairs Committee

12 October 2022

The Speaker has announced that Alicia Kearns has been elected Chair of the Foreign Affairs Committee and will take up her role with immediate effect.  

Four nominations were received for the role, triggering a ballot which ran from 11am to 2.30pm today. A breakdown of the results is attached. 

Select committee chairs are allocated according to party. The Order of the House of 16 January 2020 allocated the Chair of this Committee to the Conservative Party. Only a Member of the Conservative Party may stand for election although all MPs were able to take part in the election process.   

The full list of candidates: 

  • Sir Iain Duncan Smith, Conservative MP for Chingford and Woodford Green 
  • Dr Liam Fox, Conservative MP for North Somerset 
  • Richard Graham, Conservative MP for Gloucester 
  • Alicia Kearns, Conservative MP for Rutland and Melton 

All of the supporting statements for the candidates are available here. 

The election was triggered by the appointment of Tom Tugendhat MP as Minister of State for Security and his subsequent resignation as Chair of Committee. With the death of Queen Elizabeth II on 8 September, all parliamentary activities were suspended for the period of national mourning.  

Further information