Skip to main content

Three candidates progress to election for Chair of Energy Security and Net Zero Committee

24 April 2023

Three candidates will be on the ballot paper for the position of Chair of the newly-created Energy Security and Net Zero Committee after nominations closed at 5pm today.

The ballot of all Members of the House of Commons will take place between 11am and 2.30pm on Wednesday this week.

The candidates are:

  • Kirsty Blackman, MP for Aberdeen North
  • Stewart Malcolm McDonald, MP for Glasgow South       
  • Angus Brendan MacNeil, MP for Na h-Eileanan an Iar

The list of candidates, their sponsors and any supporting statements is available on the UK Parliament website.

MPs will vote by ranking candidates in order of preference and votes will be counted under the Alternative Vote system.

Select committee chairs are allocated according to party. The Order of the House of 27 March 2023 allocated the Chair of the Committee to the Scottish National Party and candidates needed the support of five SNP Members to qualify for the ballot.

The results will be announced in the Chamber later on Wednesday under the direction of the Speaker. The Member elected to chair the committee will take up their position with immediate effect and serve to the end of the current Parliament.

The new select committee will examine the spending, policies and administration of the Department for Energy Security and Net Zero, which was created by the recent changes to the machinery of Government.

Image: Pexels