Skip to main content

Five candidates progress to election for Chair of Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Committee Committee

24 May 2022

Nominations for the position of Chair of the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Committee closed at noon on Tuesday 24 May 2022.

Five MPs have declared their interest in the role, triggering a ballot in the House of Commons on Wednesday 25 May 2022.

The new Chair will be an MP from the Conservative Party, as agreed by the House following the last General Election. The process for the election of select committee chairs is set out in Standing Orders 122B and 122C.


The candidates are:

  • Sir Geoffrey Clifton-Brown, Member of Parliament for The Cotswolds
  • Sir Robert Goodwill, Member of Parliament for Scarborough and Whitby
  • Dr Neil Hudson, Member of Parliament for Penrith and The Border
  • Anthony Mangnall, Member of Parliament for Totnes
  • Derek Thomas, Member of Parliament for St Ives

The list of candidates, their sponsors and any supporting statements is available on the UK Parliament website. The information is also placed in the Vote Office in the Members’ Lobby in Parliament and a booklet published for MPs detailing each candidate.

The ballot will be held between 11am and 2.30pm in the Aye lobby. MPs will vote by ranking candidates in order of preference. Votes will be counted under the Alternative Vote system.

The results will be announced in the Chamber under the direction of the Speaker. The Member elected to chair the committee will take up their position with immediate effect and serve to the end of the current Parliament.

The vacancy arises following the resignation of Neil Parish as a Member of Parliament on 4 May 2022.

Further information

Image: CCO