Skip to main content

Joint Committee on the Fixed-term Parliaments Act established: Lord McLoughlin elected as Chair, written evidence deadline Monday 4 January

27 November 2020

The Joint Committee on the Fixed-term Parliaments Act has been established  by the House of Lords and the House of Commons. At its first meeting, Lord McLoughlin was elected as Chair.

Purpose of the Committee

The Committee has been established to:

  1. carry out a review of the operation of the Fixed-term Parliaments Act 2011, pursuant to section 7 of that Act, and if appropriate in consequence of its findings, make recommendations for the repeal or amendment of that Act; and
  2. consider, as part of its work under subparagraph (a), and report on any draft Government Bill on the repeal of the Fixed-term Parliaments Act 2011 presented to both Houses in this session. 

The Committee is required to report by Friday 26 February 2021.

The Committee met for the first time on Thursday 26 November and elected Lord McLoughlin as its Chair.

A draft Bill is expected to be published shortly.

Submit evidence

The Committee invites written evidence on either the operation of the Act or the draft Bill.

The Committee will take evidence on the Fixed-term Parliaments Act already given to the House of Lords Constitution Committee and to the House of Commons Public Administration and Constitutional Affairs Committee into account in its work.

The deadline for submissions will be Monday 4 January 2021.

Committee membership

Commons Members:

Aaron Bell

Chris Bryant

Jackie Doyle-Price

Ms Angela Eagle

Maria Eagle

Peter Gibson

Robert Goodwill

David Linden

Alan Mak

Maria Miller

John Spellar

Alexander Stafford

Shailesh Vara

Craig Whittaker


Lords Members:

Lord Beith

Lord Grocott

Lord Jay of Ewelme

Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon

Lord McLoughlin (Chair)

Lord Mancroft

Further information

Image: Parliamentary Copyright