Skip to main content

Angus Brendan MacNeil re-elected as Chair of the International Trade Committee

30 January 2020

Angus Brendan MacNeil MP has been returned as Chair of the International Trade Select Committee, following today’s election amongst MPs.  

The International Trade Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Department for International Trade and its associated public bodies.

Angus Brendan MacNeil was first elected chair in October 2016 and held the position until the dissolution of Parliament prior to the General Election in December. They will formally take up their position when the remaining Committee members have been named by the House.

Angus Brendan MacNeil said:

“I'm delighted to have been chosen by Parliament to chair this hugely important Select Committee.

“This week the UK will leave the EU and will therefore be able to start trade negotiations with countries around the world. The work of the International Trade Committee will be absolutely key in respect of holding the Government to account for its work in this area.

“Beyond Westminster, trade touches the daily lives of people across the UK in numerous ways: as citizens, workers and business owners. As Chair, I want to involve as many stakeholders as possible in our scrutiny of trade policy.

“I look forward to beginning this vital work with colleagues from across the political spectrum in the coming weeks.”

Further information

Image: Parliamentary copyright