Skip to main content

Membership of Business, Innovation and Skills Committee announced

9 July 2015

The House of Commons formally appointed the members of the Business, Innovation and Skills Committee on 8 July 2015.

Full membership of the Committee:

Mr Iain Wright (Chair)LabourHartlepool
Paul BlomfieldLabourSheffield Central
Richard FullerConservativeBedford
Peter KyleLabourHove
Amanda MillingConservativeCannock Chase
Amanda SollowayConservativeDerby North
Jo StevensLabourCardiff Central
Michelle ThomsonScottish National PartyEdinburgh West
Kelly TolhurstConservativeRochester and Strood
Craig TraceyConservativeNorth Warwickshire
Chris WhiteConservativeWarwick and Leamington


The chair of the Business, Innovation and Skills Committee was allocated to the Labour party. Iain Wright was elected chair on 18 June by a secret ballot open to all Members of the House of Commons.

The other members of the Committee were elected by secret ballot within their own party. The number of seats each party gets on each committee is allocated in proportion to their representation in the House of Commons as a whole.

Further information

Image: Parliamentary copyright