Skip to main content

New Chair of Competition & Markets Authority – Business Committee report following pre-appointment hearing

30 June 2022

The Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy Committee today publishes a report following its pre-appointment hearing with the Government’s preferred candidate for Chair of the Competition & Markets Authority (CMA), Marcus Bokkerink.

The Government announced Mr Bokkerink as its preferred candidate on 31 May and, following the hearing on 28 June, the cross-party Committee has endorsed his appointment.


Chair's comments

Darren Jones, Chair of the Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy Committee said:

“Mr Bokkerink showed a detailed understanding of the challenges facing the CMA, not least concerning its role in supporting economic growth, improving consumer protections and leading on competition in digital markets. We now hope he will demonstrate the independence and drive necessary to ensure the CMA will play its vital role in regulating the UK economy, particularly after its extended period without a permanent Chair.

As a Committee we are pleased to endorse Mr Bokkerink’s appointment and look forward to engaging with him in line with our mandate to hold the CMA to account on behalf of Parliament.”

The CMA is an arms-length department that promotes competition within and outside the UK. It aims to make markets work in the interests of consumers, businesses and the economy, and ensure companies operate within the law.

Mr Bokkerink was recently a Senior Partner at Boston Consulting Group and he is currently Chair of the Development Board at Pembroke College, the University of Cambridge.

During the pre-appointment hearing, MPs questioned Mr Bokkerink on issues including the CMA’s ability to compete with the private sector when hiring new talent; how he would reform the organisation and guide its approach to emerging markets; and how he would improve its work in consumer protection, advocacy, and markets ahead of the Digital Markets, Competition and Consumer Bill. 

Further information

Image: Parliamentary copyright