Skip to main content

Darren Jones elected as Chair of the Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy Committee

5 May 2020

Following an election for the position of Chair, Darren Jones has been confirmed as the new Chair of the Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy Committee.

The secret ballot of MPs took place on Wednesday 6th May.

Chair's comments 

Darren Jones, Labour MP for Bristol North West MP, Chair of the Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy Committee said:

ā€œIā€™m delighted to have been elected by the House as chair of the business, energy and industrial strategy committee at this crucial time for our country. As we start to transition from lock down, consider the best approaches to our recovery and continue to provide international leadership on climate change, I look forward to working cross-party to provide a voice for businesses, workers, and consumers to help meet these challenges.

ā€œI hope the committee will play a crucial role in bringing the best ideas to Westminster, that it will be at the forefront of putting forward constructive policy proposals, and that it will be effective in holding government and business to account.ā€

The ballot was counted under the Alternative Vote system. In the ballot for Chair of the BEIS Committee, 544 votes were cast. The counting went to two rounds. Darren Jones was elected Chair with 296 votes in the second round. Results can be viewed here.

The next public session of the BEIS Committee will take place on Thursday 14th May with the latest hearing for their inquiry on the impact of the Coronavirus on businesses and workers [further details of witnesses will be available later this week].

More details on the process for the election of the Chair of the BEIS Committee is available.

Contact details for BEIS Committee below; queries regarding the online ballot and election process can be emailed to

The election for a new BEIS Committee Chair followed the stepping down of Rachel Reeves as Chair after her appointment to the Shadow Cabinet.

Further information

Image: Parliamentary copyright