Skip to main content

Short inquiry into the Pacific Alliance launched by Lords Committee

26 April 2019

The International Relations Committee is holding several evidence sessions exploring the effectiveness of the Pacific Alliance, and the UK's engagement with it. The Committee will produce a short report on the UK and the Pacific Alliance, following these sessions.


The Pacific Alliance is a Latin American economic grouping, established in April 2011 by Chile, Colombia, Mexico and Peru, which all border the Pacific Ocean. These countries have come together to form an area of integration with the purpose of ensuring complete freedom in the movement of goods, services, capital, and people. The UK is an observer to the Pacific Alliance.


Wednesday 1 May in Committee Room 2, Palace of Westminster

At 10.40am

  • Dr Gian Luca Gardini, Professor of International Relations and Latin American Politics, University Erlangen-Nuremberg

Possible questions

  • Since its establishment in 2012, how effective has the Pacific Alliance bee in integrating the economies of its four members—Chile, Colombia, Mexico and Peru? How much does membership influence the economic policies of each of these countries?
  • To what extent is the Pacific Alliance a platform for Chile, Colombia, Mexico and Peru's international engagement?
  • What more could countries like the UK do to engage with the Pacific Alliance and its constituent states?
  • What could be the benefits to the UK from closer ties with the Pacific Alliance?

Further information