Skip to main content

House of Commons Commission decisions – 19 May 2020

19 May 2020


  • The Speaker, in the Chair
  • Jacob Rees-Mogg
  • Valerie Vaz
  • Sir Charles Walker
  • Dame Rosie Winterton
  • Pete Wishart
  • Dr John Benger (Clerk of the House)
  • Ian Ailles (Director General)
  • Jane McCall (External member)
  • Dr Rima Makarem (External member)


Following its meeting on 19 May, the House of Commons Commission has agreed the following: 

  • Public Health England is to be asked to confirm in writing the advice it has given to parliamentary authorities to ensure current social distancing measures are appropriate 
  • MPs' staff and House staff should continue to work remotely and should not return to the estate 
  • The House Service continues to develop scalable plans on staffing and social distancing measures to meet the needs of the House if these should change in the future. 

Image Parliamentary copyright / Jessica Taylor