Skip to main content

Supporter attendance at football matches campaigner nominated for Petition Campaign of the Year

24 March 2021

The nominees for the inaugural Petition Campaign of the Year Award have been announced.

This year sees the launch of the first ever Petition Campaign of the Year Award. Given out as part of the annual Your UK Parliament Awards, this Award celebrates the inspiring people who have used petitions started on Parliament’s petitions website to build support for their campaigns for change.

The winners of the Award will be selected by the MPs on the Petitions Committee, and will be announced in due course. The winners will receive a commemorative trophy and all nominees will receive a certificate to celebrate their achievements.

Nominee: Ashley

Ashley Greenwood has been nominated for his petition and campaign for limited numbers of football fans to be allowed to attend matches during lockdown. Ashley gathered support for his petition, which has more than 200,530 signatures, from across the football world, including the English Football League.

In the debate held on the petition, Members from across the House expressed support for Ashley’s campaign, raising concerns about the impact of Covid-19 on the viability of smaller clubs and calling for some fans to be allowed to attend matches with suitable safety procedures in place.

Limited numbers of football fans were allowed to attend EFL matches once the November lockdown was lifted. Following concerns about the viability of smaller clubs, the Government announced £10million of emergency funding for around 850 lower-league clubs in January 2021.

Catherine McKinnell, Chair of the Petitions Committee, comments

“These campaigns are a testament to the power of petitions to highlight issues that might otherwise not be heard in Parliament.

“The nominees have each demonstrated the impact of organising a successful campaign, building on their petitions by gathering support from the wider public, charities and others who share their concerns.

“Our nominees’ passion, determination, and ideas for how to tackle the problems they’ve set their minds to has been inspiring, and they should all be proud of their achievements.”

The other nominees

  • Clotilde Rebecca Abe and Atinuke Awe, for their campaign on the issue of Black maternal mortality and healthcare
  • Nell Bevan, Esmie Jikiemi-Pearson, Yacoub Yasin and Cynthia Muthoni, for their campaign calling for increased diversity in the national curriculum
  • Ashley Greenwood, for his campaign to allow limited numbers of fans to attend football matches during lockdown
  • Marcus Rashford MBE, for his campaign on the issue of child food poverty
  • James and Jessie Zammit-Garcia, Bethany Power and Emily Tredget, for their campaign on the impact of Covid-19 on maternity and parental leave

What are the Your UK Parliament Awards?

The 4th annual Your UK Parliament Awards recognise the individuals across the UK who have taken democratic action on the issues they care about. There are six categories, which celebrate individuals, schools, and organisations who have made a difference in their communities and beyond.

Further Information

Image: Parliamentary copyright