Skip to main content

Election Artist

27 July 2020

Since 2001, the Speaker's Advisory Committee on Works of Art has commissioned an artist to follow and document each General Election, creating a unique permanent artwork for Parliament.

Elections have been the subject of paintings and engravings since the 18th century and recording each General Election has become an important part of the Committee's acquisition strategy. The artworks record the process, outcome and main themes of each General Election, aiming to achieve both political and geographic balance.

Previous artists have included portraitist Jonathan Yeo and Turner Prize nominee Cornelia Parker. The official Election Artist for the 2019 General Election is Nicky Hirst, a London based artist working in a variety of media. Nicky will produce a unique work of art in response to her experience of the 2019 campaign, with her final artwork due to join the Parliamentary Art Collection in 2020.

Further information

Image: The Government Stable, ink drawing by Adam Dant © Parliamentary Art Collection, WOA 7483. View the full image.