Skip to main content

Finance Bill Sub-Committee re-established

6 September 2018

The Economic Affairs Committee agreed on Tuesday 4 September to re-establish the Finance Bill Sub-Committee for 2018. The Sub-Committee, which is chaired by Lord Forsyth of Drumlean and met for the first time on Wednesday the 5 September, will gather evidence on the draft Finance Bill 2018 and produce a report in advance of the Budget.

The Sub-Committee is appointed annually by the Economic Affairs Committee to consider the draft Finance Bill (though it does not always choose to conduct an inquiry). The Sub-Committee focuses on issues of tax administration, clarification and simplification rather than on rates or incidence of tax.
The membership of the Sub-Committee is as follows:

  • Lord Forsyth of Drumlean (Chairman)
  • Baroness Drake
  • Viscount Hanworth
  • Lord Hollick
  • Baroness Kramer
  • Lord Lee of Trafford
  • Lord Leigh of Hurley
  • Baroness Noakes
  • Lord Turnbull

Further information

Image: PA