Skip to main content

Committee explores how EU membership affects UK science

14 December 2015

The Lords Science and Technology Committee holds the first evidence session on its new inquiry charting the ways that EU membership and science, research and innovation interact in the UK.


Tuesday 15 December in Committee Room 4A, Palace of Westminster

At 10.40am:

  • Professor Kurt Deketelaere, Secretary-General, League of European Research Universities (LERU)
  • Professor Dame Janet Thornton, Director Emeritus of EMBL-EBI and Senior Scientist, European Bioinformatics Institute (EMBL-EBI)
  • Professor Steve Cowley, Chief Executive Officer, UK Atomic Energy Authority and Head of the EURATOM / Culham Centre for Fusion Energy (CCFE) Fusion Association

At 11.40am:

  • Professor Paul Boyle, President and Vice-Chancellor, University of Leicester
  • Professor Andrew Harrison, Chief Executive Officer, Diamond Light Source
  • Professor Dominic Tildesley, President, Royal Society of Chemistry

Possible questions

The Lords Science and Technology Committee question scientific experts with experience of working in the UK and Europe on the relationship between EU membership and UK science.

The evidence sessions cover questions such as:

  • How significant is EU funding in terms of the vitality and productivity of the UK science base?
  • How could the UK participate in EU-led infrastructure programmes if it were not a member of the EU?
  • Do EU funding incentives to collaborate with Member States reduce the incentives for international, non-EU collaborations?
  • What is the effect of freedom of movement within the EU on students and early career researchers?
  • Is the balance of regulatory power between the EU and the UK correct?
  • In your area of expertise, what is the single most influential area of EU regulation?
  • What problems are caused by the different approaches to science advice in the EU compared to the UK?

Further information

Image: iStockphoto