Skip to main content

New Sub-Committees appointed by the European Union Committee

23 April 2020

The EU Select Committee has today appointed five new Sub-Committees to replace the previous six Sub-Committee.


The European Union Committee has adopted a new structure to reflect the United Kingdom's changed relationship with the European Union. The new structure, which involves a reduction from six to four EU facing Sub-Committees, sits alongside a revised terms of reference agreed by the House of Lords on 17 March 2020, is designed to help the Committee to scrutinise the Government's policies and actions in respect of the EU, including the conduct of negotiations on the UK-EU relationship and its implementation of the Withdrawal Agreement, and to consider EU proposals in detail.

The Committee will also, through its new International Agreements sub-committee, scrutinise all new international agreements, or treaties, negotiated and concluded by the UK Government with countries and organisations other than the EU.

The new structure

The Committee has appointed five new Sub-Committees:

Further information

Image: Parliamentary copyright