Skip to main content

Voter ID - Levelling-Up Committee announces evidence hearing with Electoral Commission and election administrators

22 June 2023

On Monday 3 July, the Levelling Up, Housing and Communities (LUHC) Committee will question the Electoral Commission and election administrators on the introduction of voter ID, as part of the current Committee inquiry on electoral registration.

The cross-party group of MPs will examine the Electoral Commission’s initial analysis of the implementation of voter ID at the local elections held on 4 May – the first-time voter ID was required.

Questions are likely to focus on the Electoral Commission’s information campaign, how effectively local councils have been able to implement the voter ID changes at polling stations, and explore concerns about the impact on voter turnout and data on those voters who had been turned away because they did not have the requisite ID.

The session is also likely to explore other areas of the Committee’s electoral registration inquiry, including the case for automatic or assisted systems of voter registration, annual canvass reforms, the success of outreach activities, and barriers to boosting levels of voter registration.

In the lead up to the 4 May elections, Clive Betts, Chair of the Levelling Up, Housing and Communities (LUHC) Committee had pressed the Electoral Commission to clarify the decisions taken on voter data collection and explain how they would provide accurate data on voter turnout (Chair letter to Electoral Commission, 28 April, Electoral Commission response, 2 May).

Clive Betts, LUHC Committee Chair, had raised an Urgent Question in the House of Commons (28th April) about arrangements in place to record the number of voters who attend at a polling station and are denied a vote because they are not in possession of valid ID.


From 16.00

• Peter Stanyon, Chief Executive, Association of Electoral Administrators
• Graham Farrant, Returning Officer, Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole (BCP Council)
• Miranda Cannon, Returning Officer, Leicester City Council.

From 17.00

• John Pullinger CB, Chair, Electoral Commission
• Craig Westwood, Director of Communications, Electoral Commission
• Ailsa Irvine, Director of Electoral Administration and Guidance, Electoral Commission

Further information

Image credit: Tyler Allicock/UK Parliament