Skip to main content

Treasury Committee approves Monetary Policy Committee appointment

30 June 2022

The Treasury Committee today approves the appointment of Dr Swati Dhingra to the Bank of England’s Monetary Policy Committee (MPC).

The Committee held an appointment session on 29 June 2022 and, in a new report published this morning, outlines it is satisfied that Dr Dhingra has the appropriate professional competence and personal independence for the role.

In the session, MPs discussed Dr Dhingra’s views on inflation and the Bank’s recent decisions on interest rates.

The Committee agrees to the appointment and wishes Dr Dhingra every success in the role.

Further information

Image: Parliamentary copyright