Skip to main content

Transport Committee

Commons Select Committee

The Transport Committee is nominated by the House of Commons to scrutinise the Department for Transport. Its formal remit is to hold Ministers and Departments to account, and to investigate matters of public concern where there is a need for accountability to the public through Parliament. It is chaired by Huw Merriman MP. You can follow the Committee on Twitter @CommonsTrans

These pages only show information for this committee from the start of 2020 onwards. Earlier information can be found on the previous version of the UK Parliament website.

View previous Transport Committee website

Latest publications

View all publications
Correspondence from Baroness Vere of Norbiton, Minister for Roads, Buses and Places, Department for Transport, relating to the roll-out and safety of smart motorways, dated 7 September 2021
Inquiry The roll-out and safety of smart motorways
Committees Transport Committee
HC 26
Formal Minutes for Session 2021-22
Formal Minutes
Correspondence from Julie Lennard, Chief Executive, Driver Vehicle Licensing Authority, relating to the work of the DVLA, dated 1 September 2021
Work Work of the DVLA (Non-inquiry session)
Committees Transport Committee
HC 567

Contact us

Please note: The Transport Committee examines policy issues relating to the Department for Transport and its associated bodies. It is unable to investigate, or adjudicate on, individual cases.

  • Email:
  • Phone: General enquiries: 020 7219 6094/ Text relay: 18001 020 6094/ Media enquiries: 020 7219 8211
  • Address: Transport Committee, House of Commons, London, SW1A 0AA/ Twitter: @CommonsTrans