Skip to main content

Role - Committees on Arms Export Controls

The Committees on Arms Export Controls consist of four select committees meeting and working together:

These four committees work together because each has an interest in arms exports as part of their responsibility to scrutinise their respective Government departments. In 2020, the Government announced that the Department for International Development would be merged into the FCO and indicated that the International Development Committee (a fourth department hitherto also involved in arms export controls) would not continue. However, until the merger takes place, the International Development Committee will resume being part of CAEC.

Members are nominated from their four parent committees to represent those committees at CAEC meetings.