Skip to main content

Timetable for election of Chair of Science and Technology Committee announced

18 July 2022

Update: Following the announcement of the death of Her late Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, plans will be postponed until further notice.

The Speaker of the Commons has announced the timetable for the election of the Chair of Science and Technology Select Committee. The vacancy follows the appointment of Greg Clark MP as Secretary of State for Levelling Up, Housing and Communities onand his subsequent resignation as Chair of the Committee.

Select committee chairs are allocated according to party. The Order of the House of 16 January 2020 allocated the Chair of the Committee to the Conservative Party. Only a Member of the Conservative Party may stand for election although all MPs are able to take part in the election process.  

Nominations will open on Monday 18 July. As the House of Commons will rise for recess on Thursday 21 July, the deadline will be noon on Tuesday 13 September. If there is only one candidate, the Speaker is likely to announce the result that day.  If more than one nomination is received, a ballot will take place on Wednesday 14 September. would announce the results in the Chamber later that day. 

Candidates require 15 signatures from their own party to be nominated. Valid nominations received on sitting days will be printed in the next day’s business papers of the House. They will also be published on the Parliament website along with any declared interests.

Further information

Image: Parliamentary copyright