Skip to main content

Headteachers and experts questioned on low uptake of physics and maths by girls

13 May 2022

The Science and Technology Committee holds a further session examining why certain groups of children are underrepresented in STEM subjects. The session comes after Katharine Birbalsingh’s evidence to the Committee on the reasons for low uptake of physics A-level by girls sparked debate.


Wednesday 18 May 2022, Grimond Room, Portcullis House

At 9.30am

  • Dr Claire Crawford, Research Fellow at Institute for Fiscal Studies
  • Professor Dame Athene Donald, Master of Churchill College and Professor Emerita of Experimental Physics at University of Cambridge
  • Dr Jasper Green, Her Majesty's Inspector, Schools and Subject Lead, Science at Ofsted Curriculum Unit

At 10.15am

  • Clare Hayes, Deputy Head, Hyndland Secondary School
  • Mark Turner, Headteacher, Skipton High School for Girls
  • Jane Lunnon, Head, Alleyn's School

At 11.00am

  • Rachel Youngman, Deputy Chief Executive, Institute of Physics
  • Professor Ulrike Tillmann, President, London Mathematical Society

MPs hear from headteachers and experts on this issue, including physics professor Dame Athene Donald who has publicly rebutted the reasons given by Katharine Birbalsingh.

In the final panel, the heads of the learned societies in physics and maths will be questioned on their efforts to address diversity and inclusion issues in those fields.

Further information

Image: PA