Skip to main content

Greg Clark elected as Chair of Science and Technology Select Committee

30 January 2020

Following an election for the position of Chair, Greg Clark—Conservative MP for Tunbridge Wells— has been confirmed as the new Chair-elect of the Science and Technology Select Committee.

The secret ballot of MPs took place on Wednesday 29 January. Votes were counted under the Alternative Vote system.

Mr Clark will take up the role of Chair once the remaining members of the Committee have been appointed by the House.

Mr Clark said:

“I'm delighted to have been elected by the House as Chair of the Science & Technology Select Committee. The Committee has a huge role to play in championing the amazing people, companies, universities, colleges and research bodies across the UK. The opportunities afforded by technological advances have the potential to benefit citizens in all regions.

“I am committed to scrutinising the Government to ensure that we make the most of developments in science and technology. It will be important for the Committee to hear a diverse range of views on the exciting opportunities that are open to the UK.

“I look forward to working cross-party with my fellow MPs to bring the benefits of science and technology to people across the UK.”

Further information

Image: Parliamentary copyright