Skip to main content

Brexit Science and Innovation summit participants announced

14 February 2018

A number of panels during the Science and Technology Committee's Brexit Science and Innovation Summit on the 22 February 2018 will be dealing with particular themes: people, collaboration, funding and regulation.

Participants have been announced, as follows:


Professor Julia Buckingham

Universities UK

Elliot Dunster

Association of the British Pharmaceutical Industry (ABPI)

Professor Dame Helen Wallace

British Academy

Dr Anna Zecharia

British Pharmacological Society (BPS)

Mr Mike Bright

Research Councils UK

Sir Venki Ramakrishnan

The Royal Society

Dr Greg Walker

MillionPlus, The Association for Modern Universities

Ed Whiting

Wellcome Trust

Chris Jones

Chief Scientific Advisor Department for Exiting the EU

Jo Reynolds

Royal Society of Chemistry

Iain Wilton

Royal Statistical Society

Professor Mark Tooley

Institute of Physics and Engineering in Medicine

Sue Ferns


Dr Gillies O'Bryan-Tear

Academy of Medical Royal Colleges

Caroline Pritchard

National Measurement Laboratory

Professor Lord Robert Mair

Institution of Civil Engineers

Christopher J Darby

John Innes Centre

Professor Russell Wynn

National Oceanography Centre (NOC)

Jen Rae


Professor Johan Schot

Association for Studies in Innovation Science and Technology

Naomi Weir

Campaign for Science and Engineering

Rob Davies

CLOSER, the UK Longitudinal Studies Consortium

Professor Gerry McKenna

Heads of University Centres of Biomedical Sciences (HUCBMS).

Professor Ian Haines

UK Deans of Science

Professor Alastair Buchan

University of Oxford

Professor Michael Arthur

Russel Group EU Advisory Group

Professor Graeme Reid

University College London

Chris McDonald

Federation of Small Businesses

Dr Claire Thompson

Royal Pharmaceutical Society (RPS)

Eleanor Charsley

Association of British Healthcare Industries

Professor Richard Brook

AIRTO (Association for Innovation, Research and Technology Organisations)

Niall Dickson

Brexit Health Alliance

Felicity Burch

Confederation of British Industries

Professor Geoffrey Maitland

Institution of Chemical Engineers and the Royal Academy of Engineers  

Mark Downs

Royal Society of Biology

Dr Stephen Benn

Royal Society of Biology

Sharon Todd


Dr Estrella Luna Diez

Spanish Researchers in the United Kingdom (SRUK/CERU)

Dariel Burdass

The Physiological Society

Professor Paul Kellam

Microbiology Society

Jo Revill

British Society for Immunology

Dr Cat Ball

Association of Medical Research Charities

Dr Robert Massey

The Royal Astronomical Society

Professor Ian Chapman

UK Atomic Energy Authority

Kevin Baughan

Innovate UK

Dr David Rhodes

Public Health England

Sam Gyimah MP

Minister for Universities, Science, Research and Innovation BEIS and the Department for Education

Dr Marina Pais

The Sainsbury Laboratory, Norwich Research Park

Laura Collister

Bio Industry Association

Professor David Cole-Hamilton

Royal Society of Edinburgh

Professor Anne Dell

Academy of Medical Sciences and Trustee Biochemical Society

Further information

Image: Creative Commons