Skip to main content

Watch Brexit summit live

22 February 2018

The Science and Technology Committee's Brexit Science and Innovation Summit takes place on 22 February 2018, between 9am and 12.30pm.

Follow the Brexit Science and Innovation Summit live

Watch the summit . If you are unable to follow it live, a recording and a transcript from the session will be made available after summit. To tweet about the session, please use the hashtag #BrexitScienceSummit

Welcome by Norman Lamb MP and Lord Robert Mair

Panel 1: People

Chaired by Neil O'Brien MP

Panel members:

  • Niall Dickson, Co-Chair Brexit Health Alliance
  • Sir Venki Ramakrishnan, President Royal Society
  • Professor Julia Buckingham, Treasurer Universities UK 
  • Naomi Weir, Deputy Director Campaign for Science and Engineering

Presentation by Sam Gyimah MP

Minister for Universities, Science, Research and Innovation. Chaired by Norman Lamb MP

Panel 2: Funding and Collaboration

Chaired by Stephen Metcalfe MP

Panel members:

  • Professor Geoffrey Maitland, Brexit Working Group Chair Institution of Chemical Engineers and The Royal Academy of Engineering 
  • Jen Rae, Head of UK Innovation Policy Nesta 
  • Ed Whiting, Director of Policy and Chief of Staff Wellcome Trust
  • Professor Michael Arthur, Chair Russell Group EU Advisory Group

Panel 3: Regulation

Chaired by Carol Monaghan MP

Panel members:

  • Professor Richard Brook, President AIRTO
  • Professor Anne Dell, Treasurer Academy of Medical Sciences and Trustee Biochemical Society
  • Kevin Baughan, Deputy Chief Executive Innovate UK
  • Professor Graeme Reid, University College London

Further information

Image: CC0