Skip to main content

Ministers questioned on science in emergencies

8 September 2016

The Science and Technology Committee examine Science in emergencies: chemical, biological, radiological or nuclear incidents


Tuesday 13 September 2016, Thatcher Room, Portcullis House

At 2.15pm

  • Gary Butler, Assurance Director, Atomic Weapons Establishment
  • Simon Earwicker, Division Head, Chemical, Biological and Radiological Sciences Division, Defence Science and Technology Laboratory
  • Dr Cerys Rees, Fellow, Chemical, Biological and Radiological Science Division, Defence Science and Technology Laboratory
  • Dr Nick Gent, Deputy Head, Emergency Response Department, Public Health England

At 3.15pm

  • Ben Wallace MP, Minister for Security, Home Office
  • Paul McCloghrie, Deputy Director, National Risks and Infrastructure, Civil Contingencies Secretariat

Purpose of the session

Witnesses on the first panel represent the three initial sources of science advice in a CBRN incident—the constituent parts of Home Office ‘ECOSA' mechanism (Emergency Coordination of Scientific Advice).

The second panel includes the Minister for Security (Ben Wallace MP) and the Civil Contingencies Secretariat, which is responsible for emergency planning.

Further information

Image: iStockphoto