Skip to main content

Prime Minister questioned on Brexit negotiations and transitionary arrangements

20 December 2017

The Liaison Committee takes evidence from the Prime Minister for the first time since the general election. The Committee plans to ask questions on Brexit negotiations, health and social care funding and tackling social injustice.


Wednesday 20 December 2017, Boothroyd Room, Portcullis House

At 3.15pm

  • Rt Hon Theresa May MP

Chair's comment

Dr Sarah Wollaston, Chair of the Liaison Committee, said:

"These hearings will examine important areas of domestic policy. Given that this session follows such a significant EU Council meeting and recent events in Parliament, on this occasion will start with a focus on Brexit negotiations and transitionary arrangements. The Committee will also be asking about sustainable long term funding for health and social care and explore progress since the Prime Minister's pledge on the steps of Downing Street to fight burning injustices. Whilst making sure that Parliament gets its own house in order when it comes to tackling sexual harassment, we must not lose sight of the impact of this in many different workplaces and we plan to raise this with the Prime Minister to ask about her plans."

Member participation

Members participating in the session will be:

  • Hilary Benn MP - Committee on Exiting the European Union
  • Nicky Morgan MP - Treasury Committee
  • Rachel Reeves MP - Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy Committee
  • Angus Brendan MacNeil MP – International Trade Committee
  • Dr Andrew Murrison MP – Northern Ireland Affairs Committeee
  • Tom Tugendhat MP – Foreign Affairs Committee
  • Yvette Cooper MP – Home Affair Committee
  • Sir William Cash MP – European Scrutiny Committee
  • Mr Bernard Jenkin MP – Public Administration and Constitutional Affairs Committee
  • Dr Sarah Wollaston MP –Health Committee and Liaison Committee
  • Clive Betts MP –Communities and Local Government Committee
  • Norman Lamb MP –Science and Technology Committee
  • Robert Halfon MP – Education Committee
  • Frank Field MP – Work and Pensions Committee
  • Maria Miller MP – Women and Equalities Committee

Further information

Image: Parliamentary copyright